Mrs. Ernst W. Puttkammer Resident of the Year Award

Presented annually at the traditional Candlelight Supper and nominated by current residents, this award honors a resident or a group of residents who have been outstanding leaders and who have made a significant contribution to the life at International House. The award is presented by Lorna P. Straus, PhD’62, Mrs. Ernst W. Puttkammer’s daughter, Professor Emeritus at the University and former member of our Board of Governors. Mrs. Ernst W. Puttkammer, also a former member of the International House Board of Governors, established the Resident of the Year Award in 1991.

Recipients of the Mrs. Ernst W. Puttkammer Resident of the Year Award

  • 2015-2016: Rajab Ghazzaoui, Lebanon; Daniele Macuglia, Italy
  • 2014-2015: Courtney Gazerro, United States
  • 2013-2014: Sonia Razi, United Kingdon
  • 2012-2013: Daniele Macuglia, Italy
  • 2011-2012: Vijay Vikram, India
  • 2010-2011: WenChen Tu, China
  • 2009-2010: Ruth Anne Whitfield, USA; Corina Cheung, Hong Kong
  • 2008-2009: The Residents’ Council
  • 2007-2008: George Vassilev, Bulgaria
  • 2006-2007: Yukichi Mano, Japan
  • 2005-2006: Margarette Innocent, USA
  • 2004-2005: John Horner, USA
  • 2003-2004: Francesca Sardi, Italy
  • 2002-2003: Volnei Caetano, Brazil
  • 2001-2002: Shuhong Lin, Singapore
  • 2000-2001: Wei Jen Teng, Taiwan
  • 1999-2000: Kamal Sadiq, India
  • 1998-1999: Carlos Paz Garcia, Mexico
  • 1997-1998: Allison Garrett, Australia
  • 1996-1997: Bree Whitburn, USA
  • 1995-1996: Sunil Edward Soares, India
  • 1994-1995: Zaid Al-Farisi, Iraq
  • 1993-1994: The Belgian Residents
  • 1992-1993: Lindsey Wells Powell, U.S.A.
  • 1991-1992: Paul L. Ranzini, U.S.A.
  • 1990-1991: Ulrich Bottcher, Germany

Daniele Macuglia

 Daniele Macuglia (center)

Courtney Gazerro

Courtney Gazerro (right) with friends

Sonia Razi

Sonia Razi (right)

Vijay Vikram

Vijay Vikram (center) with friends

WenChen Tu